Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

identify a bass

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by trocadero, Jul 27, 2005.

1. trocadero

trocadero

Jun 12, 2005
    Gamleby, Sweden
    Hello everyone. I'm a beginner on double bass, I'm a jazzpianist who want to learn to swing on the big bass!

I've gotten hold of this bass and I don't really know much about it. It hasn't got any identification on it. My luthier said that he thought it could be cezch and 50 years or older. What do you think?

EDIT: added a pic of the tuning pegs. My luthier said they were very nice and expensive.

Attached Files:

2. KSB - Ken Smith

KSB - Ken Smith Banned Commercial User

Mar 1, 2002
    Perkasie, PA USA
    Owner: Ken Smith Basses, Ltd.
    Yes, he is correct or may be German and can be older. Measure the Tail piece and the String lenght from Bridge to nut, vibrating length. It looks like a 5/8 Bass with a 7/8 tail piece. It need to be in better proportion.

Better pics showing special details will help. Use my web Photos for ideas on waht may be important to show for ID purposes; http://www.kensmithbasses.com/DoubleBasses/double_basses.htm

3. Kenny Is that a 'Blockless Wonder'? What about Tyrol?

4. trocadero

trocadero

Jun 12, 2005
    Gamleby, Sweden
    Its mensur is 110 cm(43.3 ") and the fingerboard feels like a log its almost flat and very wide. The tailpiece is 35.3 cm(13.8 ")

EDIT: the neck has been smashed at some point so it got a cracks at the upper bout. I think my luthier pointed near the "block" back the upper bout and said something had been added at the reparation of the neck.

Attached Files:

5. jmpiwonka

jmpiwonka

Jun 11, 2002
    how tall is the bridge on that bass. it might be the angle but that sucker looks really short.

6. Tbeers

Tbeers

Mar 27, 2005
    Chicago, IL