idiots guide to buying basses - beginners

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by pierce, Aug 8, 2000.

1. pierce

pierce freethinker

May 25, 2000
    San Francisco, Ca
    so, you are a beginner when it comes to buying a bass. well, let me tell you, it's a perilous road my friend, filled with potholes of ignorance, greed, false hopes, and pretense. don't worry though, because i'm a professional beginner, and i fell in all of them. but as luck would have it, i like to hear myself talk, so i'm going to impart some wisdom in your direction, that just may save your life (or more likely some of your ill spent cash).

a lot of people come here asking "what is the best bass?", or "is this better than that?". read back to some of these topics to see how many "best basses" there are. you see, young basi (pronounced bass-eye), the right bass is the right bass for you, AND YOU ONLY!!!. what other people think are reserved for their own size, strength, flexibility , style, technique, color-blindness, religious persecution, and sexualy frustration. in other words, for you to like the same bass they do, for the same "exact" reasons they do, means that you would have to become them. and no, pulling a mr. ripley just won't do.

so now your confused, because you came hear to get some answers, and whoala (spelling?), you run into me who is telling you that i don't have an answer, other than some existential mumbo-jumbo about "being one with the bass".
    patience young basi, for now you must use the groove. i will now give you the step by step process for selecting your own weapon of subsonic devestation.