1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

If I get a 5'er...Stupidness lies ahead

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by BassPlayer95, Jul 13, 2012.

1. BassPlayer95

BassPlayer95

Oct 1, 2011
    If I get a five string, can I tune to drop C? A band I like a lot uses a 5'er and I believe the guitars are tuned to drop c, so what's the bass tuned to? Sorry, I'm not good with all this stuff. All I know about basses (pretty much) is the number of strings, pups, and standard tunings.

2. dave_p

dave_p

Dec 20, 2005
    CT
    one of the advantages to a 5 string is you will have access to lower registers without having to detune or drop tune. you will be able to play in C in a closed position without having to alter the tuning of the bass. if you are a strictly tablature player that may be an issue, but if you know the notes on your bass and have a good ear its not a problem.

3. BassPlayer95

BassPlayer95

Oct 1, 2011
    I pretty much go off tabs, so can I get an open C?

4. Plucky The Bassist

Plucky The Bassist ZOMG! I'm back from the dead! Supporting Member

Jul 30, 2010
    Houston, TX
    Tuning on a 5'er is (from thinnest to thickest): G-D-A-E-B

You will have a low-b string that is half step lower than a 4-string tuned to drop C, thus negating the need to adjust your tuning at all. 5'ers are nice if you want to keep from having to tune down a lot...they are also great for having more flexibility and range playing in the upper registers. Which 5'er are you looking at?

5. Dave W

Dave W

Mar 1, 2007
    White Plains
    You would get a fretted C, 1st fret on the B string.

6. hrodbert696

hrodbert696 Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Of course, you COULD tune your bottom string to C if you wanted - or to A, for that matter.

7. DBCrocky

DBCrocky

Oct 18, 2011
    Cary, NC