1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

If I XLR from my Sansamp will it cancel out the EQ from my amp?

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by Gotshun, Dec 11, 2017.

1. Gotshun

Gotshun

Jun 27, 2016
    So I'm a bit ignorant when it comes to live sound.

I'm running a Sansamp Programmable Bass Driver DI into the input of a Fender Rumble 500 which uses both preamps together for a combined tone which I love. However both the Sansamp and the Fender have an XLR output to run to FOH and I'm not sure which one to use. If I run it out from the Sansamp will it give me 100% Sansamp tone or will it still use both the Sansamp and my amp's EQ together?

Sorry if this is a no-brainer, I'm still learning. Thanks!

2. two fingers

two fingers Opinionated blowhard. But not mad about it. Gold Supporting Member

Feb 7, 2005
    Eastern NC USA
    If you DI from the SansAmp and it is before the amp then the board (sound board, mixing board, front of house PA) will only get the SansAmp. If you run from the amp XLR you will send the combined signal to the board.

Here's the thing to be careful of. Your favorite bedroom tone might sound like garbage in a mix through a PA. The physics of solo bass in a small room from a small amp and bass in a mix in a large room through a PA have very little in common.

So ask your sound guy which works best. Try it both ways if you have time.

3. Gotshun

Gotshun

Jun 27, 2016
    Gotcha! Thanks very much for the reply, I'll try both if I can and I definitely don't expect my tone to be right on the money the first time in the mix.

4. walterw

walterw Supportive Fender Gold Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 20, 2009
    alpha-music.com