Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

if you know your speakers, please help

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by mindflow, Jan 31, 2006.

1. mindflow

mindflow

Oct 31, 2004
    San Diego
    i have a GK 4x10 SBH ( i think its SBH, the model that starts with an S). so i had this terrible vibrating noise when i hit low notes hard. i narrowed it down to one speaker and when i removed it found that the paper cone had separated slightly from the outer part of the speaker which has ridges on it. not where its all attached to the frame of the speaker, but the piece that allows the cone to vibrate. i hope this makes any sense, i am new to this and this site helps me learn a lot. anyways. my question is can i fix this myself. i am thinking of getting either a new cab, or replacing the speakers in my GK so id like to fix the problem as cheaply as possible. one pleace said they could reglue the cone for $40, then they tried to sell me a Peavey speaker because thats all they carry. I went to another place and the guy said he could get me a new woofer for $65. now is a woofer just the cone part or the whole speaker? now if i tried to fix this myself is thhere a special glue i have to use? any help is appreciated thank you.

2. billfitzmaurice

billfitzmaurice Commercial User

Sep 15, 2004
    New Hampshire
    Owner, Bill Fitzmaurice Loudspeaker Design
    If the cone has come loose from the surround you can reglue it. Rubber cement works well.

3. canadian*eh

canadian*eh

Jan 4, 2006
    Edmonton,Alberta,Canada
    Uncompensated endorsing user: fEARful