If you were a guitarist, which one would you pick?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Blackbird, Mar 3, 2004.

1. Blackbird

Blackbird Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 18, 2000
    After seeing Allodox's thread and his choice of instrument, I started to think about which instrument I would pick if I became active as a guitarist myself.

While I'm a big fan of modern bass designs, my taste on guitars leans to the traditional, so I'd probably pick a Gibson of some sort. I really like the Lucille/Es-335 shape.[​IMG]

I also like the Fender Robben Ford [​IMG]

And the Beatle fan in me would love a Rickenbacker.

I also like PRS guitars a lot.

Anyone else?
  2. Depends on the musical style, I guess. I wouldn't want to see/hear Lucille in a black metal band, but the Robben Ford seems pretty versatile. Personnally, I think I'd get a Les Paul or a Fat Strat (Strat w/ humbuckers). :)

Also, check this out: www.godinguitars.com ;)
  3. Sundogue

Apr 26, 2001
    Wausau, WI
    I'm more of an acoustic lover...Martin D45 would be my choice (if I had the money).

I've got a nice Washburn 12 string right now, but if I went electric...Gibson ES335 is my all time favorite. IMHO, there is nothing better.
  4. thrash_jazz

Jan 11, 2002
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    Artist: JAF Basses, Circle K Strings
    Probably a Les Paul, 335, or a nice classical
  5. MMSterling

MMSterling Guest

Feb 19, 2004
    Leicester, England
    A Fat Strat would probably be the guitar I'd choose if I was a guitarist which I'm not so.....just hypothesising!

Andy :p
  6. Tsal

Jan 28, 2000
    Finland, EU
    Some steel-stringed acoustic or a resonator, me thinks.

On electric front, Gibson's new Faded SG's feel awfully nice with their sanded finish, are pretty inexpensive (for a Gibson) and I like the shape too.. Perhaps would change the pups to Ruokangas Dukebuckers but anyways.

7. ONYX

Apr 14, 2000