1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

If you're not well versed in something, how do you make a decision?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Sgroh87, Nov 3, 2013.

1. Sgroh87

Sgroh87

Dec 4, 2012
    DFW, Texas
    I've been playing bass for several years now, but this year I decided that I wanted to get some guitar under my belt to increase my general knowledge of music and to get a chance to play with lead and chords. I started out with a semihollow Epiphone Sheraton II and I took it pretty seriously for about five months. I ended up selling it to get my dream bass, a six string Pedulla, but my birthday and Christmas are coming up soon and I'm thinking about getting another guitar.

Here's the problem, though: I listen to and enjoy playing pretty much everything except for country. Classical, jazz, blues, hard rock, metal (both chugga and non-chugga), funk... For me, it's all good. And because I don't know what I'll end up playing, I don't know what kind of guitar I should end up with.

Part of me wants to get an Ibanez 7 or 8 string, like an RG8 or a 7421. That way I can do some heavier stuff while its distorted or I can learn to play finger style stuff like Charlie Hunter and use the lower strings for bass lines. The other part if me has always wanted a Telecaster, and there's a really nice Classic Vibe Thin line at my local music store. That would satisfy my desire for soul, rock, jazz, and blues quite well.