Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I'll bet nobody gets this one...:)

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by HoursBeforeDawn, Jun 15, 2005.

1. HoursBeforeDawn

HoursBeforeDawn

Jun 15, 2005
    But I hope I'm wrong. OK here goes...a long time ago, maybe '92, I was at a bass demonstration/live radio broadcast with Brian Bromberg. He was doing some killer tapping, but what was really cool was he had some kind of effects processor which made a clicking sound on the attack of each note. I seem to remember it was possibly a certain compressor/limiter/gate with some kind of proprietary circuit for this effect, but that was a long time ago, I was a real beginner then and I've killed a LOT of brain cells since then (but only the weak ones, yuck yuck). My question, of course, is, WHAT THE HELL WAS THAT?!?! :bag: :eyebrow: I mean, what was it? Also, has anyone used more exotic effects such as a vocoder, ring mod, notch filter, whatever? I guess I'm asking what are some ideas for more exotic effects, besides the usual suspects, esp. rackmounted...Thanx! :bassist:

2. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    There was no effect. Just the attack of a graphite neck (which he played at that time). I saw him @ Musikmesse Frankfurt at that time - no effects IIRC.

3. HoursBeforeDawn

HoursBeforeDawn

Jun 15, 2005