Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I'll NEVER visit Guitar Center again (long)

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by jdombrow, Dec 14, 2003.

1. jdombrow

jdombrow Supporting Member

Jan 16, 2002
    Colorado Springs, CO
    I've been playing bass for over thirty years, and in recent years have been fortunate to own a number of high-end basses (MTD, Lakland, F-Bass, Roscoe). But, after all these years of the hi-fi stuff, I want to get a bass with a more "traditional" sound, so I thought I would look into a moderately priced 5-string Fender Jazz Bass. Yesterday, I stopped at the Guitar Center here in Colorado Springs (which is a bit smaller store than most of their other mega-stores).

I'm looking at the wall of Jazz Basses when the salesman asks if he can help me. I ask him if they have a 5-string Jazz Bass. He looks kind of puzzeled and says "I don't think we've ever had a 5-string Jazz Bass in the store, but we have some nice SWR and Warwick 5-strings".

I said "No, I'm looking for a Fender 5-string."

"Well, if you know the specific model number, I can order one for you."

So, I tell him I don't want to order one, I want to play one first.

"Well, I can get one from one of our other stores, but you'd have to buy it."

Then I asked him if he could explain a little about the differences in the various jazz bass models.

"Well, there's the P-Bass and the Jazz Bass, but that's about it. They're pretty much all the same."

So I said: "No, there's a number of different models of Jazz Bass; some made in different countries, and some with active preamps."

Dimwit: "No, the only way to get an active preamp in a Fender bass is to special order it through the Custom Shop."

End of conversation.

2. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    I didn't know that SWR made basses. :p

3. bplayerofdoom

bplayerofdoom