Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I'm a bassist!!

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Komakino, Feb 23, 2001.

1. ....well, I just got my first bass anyway! At least I'm on my way to possibly being able to call myself a bassist....hey, everyone has to start somewhere!

I was wondering how other people got in to bass? I started playing a friend's three months ago and just got hooked taking tabs round to his place all the time to try them out. I just had to get a bass of my own before he got fed up with the permenant intrusion!

2. john turner

john turner You don't want to do that. Trust me. Staff Member Administrator

Mar 14, 2000
    atlanta ga
    congrats, and welcome to the ranks, soldier! :D

3. that makes you all right in my book. good luck.

4. "Stand Hut!" *salutes*

Now private.....

:D

lol, ok Dad had a bass in the store room when he needed to fill in for his band. I always wanted to start a band and so i picked it up one day. I asked dad if i could use it and he let me. So it started from there...

Then the bands came along.......lol

Merls

Welcome to TB and a word of warning, I don't post anything serious on here and so never listen to me! lol :p

5. welcome, enjoy the info and sarcasm

6. Info? what where? You mean we come here to l-e-a-r.........*shakes* i can't say it doc, i just can't.....

Merls

7. Boplicity

Boplicity Supporting Member

Good luck, have fun, and give serious consideration to learning to read standard notation so you won't become dependent on tabs and learning to transcribe music so that you won't need to wait for someone to "tab out" the music for you.