1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

im a beginner and i probably already made a mistake

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by maiyah, Aug 31, 2018.

1. maiyah

maiyah

Aug 31, 2018
    beginner
    so i just got my bass guitar today and i have no experience with guitars. the only music experience i have is playing the flute from 4-9 grade. i got my bass and realized it has 6 strings and looking around online, i only see beginner tutorial for 4 strings and people saying its a bad idea for a beginner to learn 6 string first. should i return it? any tips on how i should begin learning as well?

drummer5359 likes this.
  2. jd56hawk

jd56hawk

Sep 12, 2011
    The Garden State
    Does the store have a good return policy?
    If so, bring it back and try every 4-string bass there you can afford.
    Bring a friend who knows something about bass, if possible.

Some people might suggest you stick with the 6-string and tell you “Plenty of good 6-string players out there" or "Hey, I learned on a 6-string" or "Just use 4 strings and ignore the outer 2" but don't let their personal preferences influence you...this is your bass, not theirs.

Lessons might help if you can find a good instructor, but they're not cheap, and there are plenty of youtube videos to help you get started.
    Take it slow, learn the strings, learn the frets, learn a few scales, practice an hour a day...never practice so much that you start hating it...and in a few weeks I'll show you a song you can learn with ease. Because once you're familiar with your bass, applying what you know will make you feel great!

Last edited: Sep 1, 2018
  3. maiyah

maiyah

Aug 31, 2018
    beginner
    alright will do! thank you

4. Pilgrim

Pilgrim Supporting Member

I suggest some web surfing after searching for things like "how to get started in bass guitar."