1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

I'm a complete noob with pickups and electronics; I'm finally looking to upgrade my parts

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Sean775, Dec 18, 2017.

1. Sean775

Sean775

Mar 19, 2015
    New Jersey, USA
    I have a Deluxe Ash Mexican Fender Jazz, which I bought a few years ago; that was my first good quality bass after owning a cheap Ibanez for a long time.
    I'm finally getting around to upgrading my equipment. I bought a new amp recently, and I just ordered a vintage American Fender bridge and a new neck nut. Next I want to upgrade the pups and electronics, but I don't know too much about Jazz Bass pickup upgrades.
    What are some of the more popular options, and what exactly do I need to buy to upgrade all of that?

2. Sean775

Sean775

Mar 19, 2015
    New Jersey, USA
    Btw, my bass is passive and I want to keep it that way

3. I'd think the bridge on a Deluxe Mexican would have been better than a Vintage American one.

One thing you can do is add a series/parallel switch with a push/pull pot.

If you want it a little brighter you can change all the pots to 500K Ohm.
    That might be enough & you'll then be satisfied with the original pickups.

Wfrance3 likes this.
  4. sikamikanico

sikamikanico

Mar 17, 2004
    Yeah, don't assume you need to upgrade. Unless there is a specific problem with the pickups, your bass is fine. If you have a specific problem, please specify it. Can't give general advice about pickup swaps (the only general advice would be to not swap pickups).

5. 96tbird

96tbird PLEASE STAND BY