Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

im a doubler...

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Eric Cioe, Feb 14, 2002.

1. Eric Cioe

Eric Cioe

Jun 4, 2001
    Missoula, MT
    i have a conklin GT-7 7 string bass guitar

i have been playing double bass in my school orchestra for 5 years now.

lets say i had $2000 to spend on an upright.

what should i look into? im a total greenhorn to the upright bass market.

2. $2,000 gets you a Christopher plywood bass. It's one of the best values I've seen. Dave Brubeck's bassist (Michael Moore) uses one almost exclusively.

3. lermgalieu

lermgalieu Supporting Member

Apr 27, 2000
    Palo Alto, CA
    I've heard good things about Strunals too - Don probably knows better than me though. Here's the key tho, whatever you get, get it to a good luthier asap...

4. anonymous0726

anonymous0726 Guest

Nov 4, 2001
    An option that seems to be often overlooked by those just entering The Dark Side, is the more traditional approach to finding a bass by exercising time and patience and finding a deal on an older bass that suits your 'needs v. pocketbook'. If you're out in the middle of nowhere then you don't have many options, but if you're near at least a medium sized city you can usually find a good bass in a reasonable amount of time. The advantage of an older bass over a new one is that they're usually 'played in' or can be awakened without much effort, and someone has already spent the time getting the thing set up nicely.

My $.02 USD

PS: I love my bass, don't get me wrong. She's a year old and I wouldn't sell her for any price. Well, a decent 6-digit sum might peak my attention. Still, the first 30-45 minutes of playing each day is on a sleeping giant...

5. Full disclosure:
    I've never heard or played a Strunal or a Bob's
    Bulgarian.

6. Eric Cioe

Eric Cioe

Jun 4, 2001
    Missoula, MT