I'm a newbie and a Blink fan, but I NEED help

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by DJCrashAL01, Jul 11, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DJCrashAL01

Jul 11, 2002
    Wyoming, MI
    I just started playing bass, and I'm just curious if any other Blink fans have tips for me on how to play like Mark. For those of you who hate Blink, i'm sorry, I know it's not the hardest stuff to play, but that's one reason why I wanna learn it. So, if anyone has any tips on what to use, or how to tune, or how to pick, or anything that might help me, please let me know. Thanks

2. Stephen S

Stephen S Member

Apr 10, 2002
    San Bernardino, CA
    So you wanna play like mark huh? Ok here are a few tips.

1)Play with a hard pick not the soft kind.

2)Drop your IQ level a few points.

3)Kiss a few guys.(take one for the team:D )

4)Don't listen to a word I say.
  3. ERIC31

Jul 1, 2002
    Maricopa, AZ
    things that will help your punk rock bass playing:

GO TO THE SOURCE OF THIS STYLE. PICK UP THE FIRST RAMONES CD AND PLAY ALONG WITH IT. THE BASS IS ON THE LEFT CHANNEL AND THE GUITAR IS ON THE RIGHT. ADJUST THE BALANCE ON YOUR STEREO TO HEAR ONLY THE BASS. Start out with slow songs like 53rd & 3rd and Beat On The Brat. Eventually you'll be able to play stuff like Chainsaw and Blitzkreig Bop.

Practice using downstrokes (instead of up and down). this will give your sound more power. start out slow and gradually work up the speed.

Using a heavy pick is a good idea also.

Listen to Green Day to see great bass playing in a pop punk context.

Adjust your strap to where your right arm is comfortable and not straining. too high or too low puts stress on your picking arm.

practice, practice, practice!!

ROCK OUT! and don't forget to have fun.:D
  4. for quarter notes, this is good advice, but for faster stuff you really have to practice up-and-down or you'll suddenly find yourself behind one day.