Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

im a newbie

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by jonathan_matos5, Mar 7, 2006.

1. im a newbie bass player does anybody have any good tips for me:hyper: :help: :bassist:

2. Mixmasta J

Mixmasta J

Dec 4, 2004
    I love the vagueness of these posts, :p if you want some tips, I would go back and read some threads that have a lot of remarks. Also stickied threads, because asking this vague of a question makes it hard for me to help with.

3. Lowtonejoe

Lowtonejoe Supporting Member

Jul 3, 2004
    Richland, WA
    Practice hard but not enough to do yourself injury.

Move with the groove. Don't be afraid to relax and really get into it.

Find a good teacher. Real or imagined.

Keep a good attitude with the people who teach you AND the people you play with.

Learn to use your gear. If you get frustrated by it break out the manual and figure out what you are doing wrong.

Learn about gear in general. It really makes things easier.

Always, ALWAYS have fun. If it's not fun, it's not worth it.

That's just a few to get you started. There are many more.

:D

Joe.

4. BMGecko

BMGecko

Sep 5, 2002
    Albuquerque, NM
    When practicing scales and arpeggios, make sure to play them up and down all the strings. Just because you can't play another full octave (such as from an open string to the twelfth fret) doesn't mean the music stops there.

For many years, I didn't learn to "link" scales together for more than three adgjacent strings, a real time waster for me.