Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

im a solo bassist just trying to get my sound out there

Discussion in 'Recordings [BG]' started by erikh, Sep 29, 2005.

1. erikh

erikh

Sep 29, 2005
    sup dudes and dudesses? Im a 19yr old bassist from Boston MA just trying to get my music out there. Its all 1 take recording and mostly improvised, so its raw but you get the picture. Go to
    www.myspace.com/eriksmagicalpeanut if you want to check it out. For all you slap fanatics, check out the third song- 2nd is my fav though...
    PEACE brosephs!

2. Adam Barkley

Adam Barkley Mayday!

Aug 26, 2003
    Jackson, MS
    I dig Phase in a "Sneaker Pimps" sort of way. Make more music like that.

The rest didn't do anything for me. But don't take that personally, I really dislike bass as a solo instrument and I have never been wowed before by any solo bass music.

3. Joe Garage

Joe Garage

Mar 13, 2005
    My Apology was pure class! Thanks you for making stuff like this!

:)

4. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

Apr 8, 2002
    I'm curious as to how you reconcile your approach to music with attending a school like berklee. If you truly view music as a supplement to life and something that is ultimately not to be taken with utmost seriousness all the time, then surely berklee's methods would be an enormous thorn in your side. Berklee's approach is more akin to business/career first art/life/expression second.

I went to berklee for 3 semesters and ultimately was totally turned off by the school, largely because in many ways it was like a factory, boxing up musical proficiency into little packets to dish out to diligent students. I didn't feel much if any infusion of life in their process, and ultimately I found that it was my own life, my own experience and my own music that compelled me, and berklee was just getting in the way.