Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I'm about to just give up...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by AndrewClaycomb, Aug 24, 2005.

1. Alright, so I've been playing for several years now and have gone through so many amp/cab/bass changes and still haven't found the right sound I'm looking for. Currently I'm running a MIM deluxe jazz through a Hartke 2000, into a korg 1000 tuner, powered by a furman conditioner. The cabinet I'm using is an SWR workingman's 8x10.

I've owned-

cabs:
    SWR workingman's 8x10
    Kustom 1969 3x15 tuck and roll cab
    Peavey standard early 90's 4x10

amps:
    Hartke 2000
    Vintage all tube Traynor bass master
    behringer's solid state ultrabass head
    Kustom 1969 200 watt solid state 4 channel head
    Some 70's old Ampeg solid state amp
    A sunn 100 watt solid state amp
    and numerous combos

basses:
    mij fender precision
    mim fender deluxe jazz
    Tokai TPB-57
    Washburn T-24 Tauarus
    Epiphone thunderbird
    ESP LTD b-105

Out of all of these options, I've condensed my basses down to the mexican jazz and am very happy. (Not going to change that.) Out of all the cabinets I like the SWR the most (not a very good spectrum of cabs though.) and out of amps I would have to say the Hartke is the best, although the Traynor came damn close.

Here's my problem. I can't get that good "round," "full" sound out of my setup. (or any setup in the past) My Hartke just blew out so now would be a good time to change amps and try something new. I want to spend under $400 in the used market. What does everybody suggest? Also if you have any comments on the cabinet or bass, feel free to mention them.

I'm just starting to get fed up with trying to get that great sound I hear in my anotomical head. (trying hard not to make a pun here.) perhaps the Tech 21 Sans Amp? I'm about to lose hope...