Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Im about to order an acme B4

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by venezuelanbass, Jan 14, 2004.

1. have heard unbeliable quantities of good reviews, what do you guys think about em

2. jokerjkny

jokerjkny

Jan 19, 2002
    NY / NJ / PA
    do a search, and you'll see LOTS of great reviews. i personally love mine, and cant think of what i'd do without it.

also, just be sure you're wearing diapers before your first run with the B4. ;)

3. Chaputa

Chaputa Bass-Not just fo eatin anymore

...and another thing...give it some time to break in. Don't slam it volume wise too quickly. These things put out some serious lows, and it seems to get better with age!

4. alexclaber

alexclaber Commercial User

Jun 19, 2001
    Brighton, UK
    Director - Barefaced Ltd
    They rule! I've been using a pair of Low-B2s for over 4 years, with an SWR Grand Prix preamp, originally pushed by a Mackie M1400 but now upgraded to a QSC PLX 3002 for less weight and more headroom. Give it 1000-2000W RMS and you will be a very happy bunny!

Alex

5. alexclaber

alexclaber Commercial User

Jun 19, 2001
    Brighton, UK
    Director - Barefaced Ltd
    Following various complaints about inspecific advice let me put it another way - they have flatter response than any other bass cab I've heard by a huge margin. Like listening to your bass through big studio monitors.

The downside is that every mistake you make will come through loud and clear. The upside is that none of the nuances of your phrasing and subtle tonal details will be lost.

Alex

6. I love my B-4!!! It would have to be pried from my cold dead hands before I would part with it. I know you're not in the US so I'll reiterate some of the things already said-

1. Make sure you break in the speakers before cranking the volume!