Im an Ebay newb - TB mates please advise

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Peter Squire, Aug 6, 2005.

1. Hi people

Today, for the very first time, I placed a bid on an Ebay auction. There are a couple of very very rare CD's on there that I have to have. I really have no idea what I'm doing with Ebay though. :meh:

I can't send the seller a question because I have no feedback (?)

I am wondering this - if I don't want to be outbid, should I place my maximum bid at 1 million dollars???

Really, folks, I'm just looking for some advice about how to successfully deal on Ebay.

2. Never ever place you maximum bid higher than you are willing to pay, and never place your highest bid early in the auction, as it will likely just drive the price up. Wait until (seriously) the final 15-20 minutes before placing your absolute maximum bid, and then watch that auction like a hawk.
  3. Bob Clayton

Bob Clayton Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Aug 14, 2001
    Deptford, NJ
    i alwasy wait until about 15 seconds left to place my max bid
  4. Oh, ok, can everyone else see what your max bid is?? Or can the seller email his mates to get the bids higher etc?
  5. the seller nor anyone else can't see what the max bid is.. but there are people that will keep bidding just to see how high someone may have gone (I've done that withing reason,, humph, never got a thanks from the seller either LOL)

and no,, the seller can't get his buds to drive the bids up,, (although I'm sure some do it),, it's against the rules,,,,

if you do a search on google, you can find some ebay auction sniping sites,, that will,, umm,,something like a proxy bid,, will bid at the available few seconds to secure you a winning bid,,, ebay does not condone this behaviour, but they are hard to catch and a number people use them,,,

good luck with your bids..
  6. Bob Clayton

Bob Clayton Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Aug 14, 2001
    Deptford, NJ