1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

I'm applying to Berklee College of Music, a few questions inside

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Tehdouglas, Nov 16, 2006.

1. Tehdouglas

Tehdouglas

Feb 10, 2006
    NH
    Hey before I get started, financially I'm all set so don't bother with that stuff ;)

So I've been playing Bass for 2 years nor but only serious for 1 year (by serious I mean 4 hours practice a day minimum). I'm in a band, tutor 2 guitar players (I have a year experience of acoustic guitar as well), and I have a teacher. I know a good deal of theory such as scales, intervals, various types of chords, inverting/modulating, ect. (I also use pacmans method) Im a good improvisor and can play along to something new fairly quick. My main weakness is sight reading. I can read notation okay and I'm practicing reading everyday but I don't think I could play and read at the same time.

So that being said, does anyone have any experience with Berklee and could give me any advice on the audition? I'm kinda nervous to be honest. I used to hear that they took in anyone decent that auditioned but I don't know if things changed or what exactly a decent player is. If anyone has some insight thatd be awesome, thanks!

2. BassChuck

BassChuck Gold Supporting Member

Nov 15, 2005
    Cincinnati
    I'm not sure about what you'll be asked in the audition, but I do know from several decades of playing and reading that the best way to learn sight reading is to play with other musicians. I'm sure that people can learn notation basics working on their own... but to really have that marketable skill of sight reading you have to practice with other players.