Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I'm baffled...

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by toman, Jul 27, 2004.

1. Anybody want to help me troubleshoot my bass? I have to admit, I've been slacking off and not playing a lot lately. Today, I go to play my bass and all four strings appear to have shifted to the bass ide by at least a quarter inch. Now, it would seem to be a simple problem, probably the bridge is just out of place. I'm a pretty good mechanic, so I take a look at everything, measure everything, and there's nothing wrong with the bass. Everything is exactly where it's supposed to be, as far as I can tell. What could cause this? There are only two things I can think of that could be remotely related to this; one, the joint between the neck and fingerboard has been a little open right at the bottom of the neck. I don't see how that could affect anything. Second, before I got this bass the neck was reset for a higher angle. Could something have moved there to cause this problem? I hope not... I need to get this fixed or it's going to drive me nuts!

Thanks for any ideas...

2. FidgetStone

FidgetStone

Jun 30, 2002
    Allen, TX
    I have bumped my bridge off kilter going through doorways several times with the same result. I just loosen the strings and scoot the bridge back over where its supposed to be and I'm back in action.

I get more careful every time it happens.

3. hdiddy

hdiddy Official Forum Flunkee Supporting Member

Mar 16, 2004
    San Francisco, CA
    Sounds like it's time to pay a visit to Lex Luthier. :meh: