Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I'm clueless here

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by BassGurl42, Oct 8, 2000.

1. BassGurl42

BassGurl42

Oct 8, 2000
    Muskegon, MI
    Ok, I am a newbie in the bass world and I have a few questions.
    1. What does "Drive the bus" mean? I was looking at my issue of Musicians Friend and there was a Fender Bass Street insert in it and there was an article thing that said "Victor Bailey Drives the Bus." I must be the only one that doesnt know this, but hey, stupid is as stupid does.
    2. What is the best amp I can get for 300 dollars and under? I see quite a few, but don't know which one to buy. I currently use my stepdads beat up amp that his band uses and I want my own.
    3. Are there any bass tab archives other than www.basstabarchive.com? I am searching for the song pick up the pieces by the average white band and can't find it anywhere.

Ok, done. Please respond. It might leave you with a warm fuzzy feeling inside.

Thanks,
    Rachel :)

2. basslax

basslax

Apr 20, 2000
    Washington, DC
    in your amp price rance, i would suggest going used. Check out bassplayer.com and click 'Gear' then scroll down to 'Combo Amp Shootout' this has got some good info on amps. These may be out of your pricerange, but if you find them used theyll be cheaper

3. try http://www.basscrawler.com.... i like them a bit better than basstabarchive.com... they seem to have just as many if not more tabs too... hope i helped

4. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

Maybe Joe Zawinul is trying to cut his costs on tour - Jazz doesn't pay as well as rock/pop etc. so you probably need other skills to make a living these days! ;)