Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I'm doing the "I got a new bass" dance

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by bman, Dec 17, 2000.

1. bman

bman

Dec 4, 2000
    Sandown, N.H., USA
    OK, we've had a change of plans... I was supposed to get a Fender Geddy Lee signature Jazz as a Christmas present. But my wife suggested we take a drive down to Guitar Center just to look around before we definitely settle on the Jazz. You know, do some homework/research. Check prices, play around...
    Well, other than Fenders, which I've seen plenty of, they mainly had a wall of Warwicks. I always thought Warwicks were out of my price range.
    For the heck of it I tried out a Streamer Standard 4-string. (The 'Vettes and Thumbs ARE out of my price range.)
    Well, I fell in love with it. I'm a veteran of the cheap bass wars, so this felt really nice to me. I loved the almost 'unfinished' feel the neck has. It was the 'Nirvana Black' color, sort of a transparent black stain. It had one nice ding on the side, and the strings died some time in 1998, but it felt great and still sounded very, very nice. It had a nice growl to it, which is what I've always loved about J-basses.
    To make a really long story short, I drove home without it Friday night, hit the Talkbass forums and looked for reviews and stuff. We went back the very next morning, talked him down on the price and we walked out of there with it.
    I got the Warwick Streamer Standard for $650, but with a padded gig bag (they didn't have any hard cases in stock,) stupid Massachusetts sales tax (can you tell I'm from New Hampshire?) it came to about $700. They also threw in a set of yellow label Warwick strings.