1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

I'm flat broke, but I won't sell any of my basses!!!

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Spinal Tapper, Oct 13, 2009.

1. Spinal Tapper

Spinal Tapper

Nov 15, 2007
    Chicago
    Hey fellow TBers...I'm a gigging musician, but also have a full-time job.

I've come into hard times financially and I can't seem to let go of my basses to pay the bills. It's not dyer, I'm not ill or losing my apartment or anything, but I make just enough to scrape by for now. Plus, this isn't the best time in our economy where I will actually get what I want for anything I own...if anything bad happened like my car broke down or I my cat got sick, I'd be totally screwed you know?

Has anyone ever ran into this situation before? Here's a family photo. :bawl:
    bass-family_web.

I also have a sweet Ibanez Rick-copy that I got for my birthday this year that isn't pictured, but I doubt I'd ever sell that because they're SO hard to find these days.

How do you guys deal? Do you stick it out and hope for the best? Do you sell little things to scrap together cash? Do you sell your larger stuff knowing that you can just buy more later?

Maybe I'm just being a little whiner?

Sorry for the whiny thread, but I'm just kinda bummed out right now. I need some advice - maybe from the older dudes.

2. REAPER52

REAPER52

Aug 17, 2008
    FL-Central
    Times are tuff.I have been out of work for over a year for the first time in my life. Its a stuggle but i wont sell my bass or rig either. as a matter of fact i have sold other stuff and traded stuff to get my rig to the level i wanted it to be at , without spending money i dont have...Hang in there its got to get better......When i feel down -i get the Bass out and lose myself for awhile...