Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I'm GASin for a Lakland!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by mikeluch, Jan 31, 2005.

1. mikeluch

mikeluch Gold Supporting Member

Nov 30, 2004
    Ocala, FL
    Within the past few years I started playing again after a long layoff(way too long). I really want a Lakland 4-94 Deluxe but I need to dump a couple of basses. (My wife says I need to be an octopus to play them all.)
    Anyway, I have a G&l ASAT, L2000 and JB-2, Fender MIA Precision and Jazz, Rick 4003, Esp b-304, Dearmond Starfire and The Bass Co bass. My problem is which ones to sell to get the Lakland. Is the Lakland that much of an improvement over the G&ls, Fenders and Rick? Should I keep them all and not keep the peace? Some of you guys must have had similar problems.
    Help, this is driving me nuts!

2. Selta

Selta

Feb 6, 2002
    Pacific Northwet
    Total fanboi of: Fractal Audio, AudiKinesis Cabs, Dingwall basses
    IMO, I'd sell the ESP and the Fenders. But that's me, and I like G&Ls and Rics. :p

Ray

3. Sane

Sane

Dec 4, 2004
    Melbourne Fl
    Sell me the Ric at fender price? :D (LoL scratch that ... thought it said MIM) .. Yea Id hang on to the Ric and G & Ls ... try to buy used... should help keep the peace:)

4. Vic

Vic There's more music in the nuance than the notes. Gold Supporting Member

Oct 14, 2002
    Central Illinois
    Staff, Bass Gear Magazine
    IMHO, I'd sell everything but the Fenders and the Ric.

If the Fenders are "the ones", it just makes great sense to have a "set" of great Fenders in yer arsenal. Also, there's just no replacing a Ric if you love that tone (which I assume you do). However, and again, IMHO, once you play a Lakland, you won't have any use for the rest.