1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

I'm getting a brand new set up, any advice?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Weismayr42, Sep 17, 2008.

1. Weismayr42

Weismayr42

Sep 17, 2008
    Hey, I literally just joined this forum today, and I'm looking to get a new bass and some kind of backline.
    To cut a long story short, I have recently moved out of home (I'm 19) in order to pursue music and expand my knowledge. I have been playing bass for around 6 years now (I currently own a fairly beaten up Ibanez SR300) , but I have never taken lessons and I dont have a great knowledge of bass guitars and equipment in general.
    One of the main reasons I joined this forum was to seek advice on how to improve my knowledge as well as my playing abilities.
    I'm in a couple of bands now and I really want to take myself and my gear seriously.
    I'm looking at getting an active Warwick Corvette standard Bubinga, and I've tried out some half stacks, including an Ampeg SVT-VR Reissue Head which I fell in love with, but it's a bit out of my price range at the moment, and I kinda want something practical (not a combo really) that I can do local gigs with, sounding as close to the Ampeg valve sound as possible lol.
    Anyways, apologies for the long post, any input from anyone would be great.
    Thanks
    :hyper:

2. Go w/ a good ol' Fender Jazz my man, you won't be sorry. Most popular bass in the world for a reason.

As far as cabinets, I like Epifani best. They pair with Jazz basses great as well!

3. Weismayr42

Weismayr42

Sep 17, 2008
    hey thanks man lol, alot of ppl recommend the fenders to me but i've never really gotten along with them, i've always preffered sleek necks i guess, and a slightly different sound
    I'm intrigued by the Epifani brand tho, any setups in particular that u can suggest?

4. spaz21387

spaz21387

Feb 25, 2008