Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I'm giving up on fingerstyle after 3 years.....

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Squidfinger, Nov 14, 2004.

1. Squidfinger

Squidfinger I wish I could sing like Rick Danko.

Jan 7, 2004
    Shreveport LA
    I know I know :rolleyes: . I've been playing for 3 years now (yeah, a noob) and I've been solely fingerstyle the whole time. I tried playing with picks but hated the tone. Lately I had been becoming depressed about my playing :( . I just felt like I'd been on autopilot always playing the same patterns. I have low ceilings and very bad acoustics in my small cell like room and am constantly wrestling with my eq against boominess and muddiness.

Then a few days ago I was cleaning some stuff up and came across a few of my old picks. I started playing and lo and behold I'm grooving my ass off. The definition and tone is great, all muddiness gone (I'm also much better with the eq now). I put on some albums and start playing along and catching on faster than I used to. I can hear the scale tones clearer now. Everything just seems to flow better. It's like with fingers I was thinking too much. So I'm trading up and crossing over. Fingerstyle will still be there for me, but I think I'll only bring it out for slow, ballady stuff.

I was guilty of a measure of anti-pick snobbery, for this I am sorry. Has anyone else become primarily a pick player after years of fingerstyle?

2. I keep on switching...I think I like fingers better,they're more my forte.

3. James Hart

James Hart

Feb 1, 2002
    toms_river.nj.us
    Endorsing Artist: see profile
    nothin' wrong with a pick. Lots of Master Players use them. I have fun with one now and again.... it's just another tool to express yourself :bassist:

4. Personally i prefer fingerstyle, but if you like using a pick then use it! There's nothing wrong with that.

5. hyperlitem