Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Im gonna feel like such a newbie...here goes

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by aleyman, Nov 1, 2002.

1. aleyman

aleyman Guest

Nov 1, 2002
    PA
    Ok, i'm new to this, so give me a break, k?

Well, i got a fender squire bass, and on the white part (im so descriptive, arn't I?) there this annoying sort of plastic wrap stuff. is this important?can i peel it off? its starting to bug me.....

And another question. when im doing slideing stuff it makes this unhappy scrathing noise when i slide along the string. Is that normal? i'm just teaching myself (this websites my new homepage) and i don't know a lot of stuff about this. I just picked up a bass, really liked it, and decided to get one. that was like 2 months ago i think... ok thanks a lot.

2. Ok here goes:

The "white thing" is the pickguard, and yeah get rid of the plastic.
    and...
    By sliding do you mean sliding frets or pick sliding? If its frets then i dont know why its scratching. Pick slides, however, are supposed to sound like that. Hope this helps.

Jason

3. SoComSurfing

SoComSurfing Mercedes Benz Superdome. S 127. R 22. S 12-13.

Feb 15, 2002
    Mobile, Al
    Welcome. TB will soon be your new best friend!
    That plastic crap on the pickguard...you can peel that off. It's mostly there to protect the pickguard from being scratched while the bass in hanging in the store being played by god knows who or what.
    The "scratching" noise...that's from the roundwound strings. See how they have a round wrap going around the strings? The little space inbetween the wraps is what's causing that noise when you move your fingers along them. If you really hate it you can try some flatwound or tapewound strings. Check over in the strings forum for TONS of advice.
    Welcome again! :)

4. Hi!