Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

im hurting my bass!!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by A Rock, Feb 14, 2002.

1. A Rock

A Rock

Mar 18, 2001
    New Haven, CT
    for over the past yr...i noticed that i was scratchin the would right next to the pickup where i anchor my thumb. now some of the finishing is scratched away.

i just started learning how to slap pop. after a couple weeks of grueling practice..i noticed i scratched up the area right next to the g string where i slap popped.

now there are two area with a lot blemishes.

am i doing something wrong?
    is my wood too soft for me...its an ash body?
    or do i have superhuman nails?..i try to keep em trim most the time.

2. Jarrod

Jarrod

Jan 1, 2002
    Los Angeles, CA
    if your bass has a natural wood stain or oil finish, then it is not uncommon to carve bits of it out with your fingers and fingernails over the years.... i have a friend with an old tobias that has a massive carving out beneath the g string from popping... and i was starting to do the same to my dearmond until i got my jazz bass... now the pickguard stops my fingernails cold :)

if you have a hard laquer finish and you're making big carvings, then yes you are superhuman... usually in that case, you'd just make mostly invisible scratches

either way, i wouldn't worry about it.... as someone said, it adds character to the bass! uh, unless you want to sell it... then i'd try to be careful!

3. Showdown

Showdown Supporting Member

Jan 21, 2002
    Honolulu, Hawaii