I'm joing a band.... NOW WHAT???

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by bass_is_for_me, Sep 18, 2003.

1. bass_is_for_me

Jan 1, 2003
    I have been playing bass for 3 years. I went to lessons for the first 6 months but my teacher was a self proclaimed "local band hero" and he knew very little music theory. Anyways earlier this week I was sitting in the music room on my free period playing bass. Well a few kids heard me and said we should form a band. So today we decided to have our first offical pratice. We picked 2 cover songs just to break the ice and get things moving Jimi Hendrix
    Machine Gun and Red Hot Chili Peppers around the world. What I am concerned about is when we create orignal music what do I need to know in order to accomplish this?

Thanks for any help!
  2. Stephen S

Stephen S Member

Apr 10, 2002
    San Bernardino, CA
    You can create music with what you currently have, no more music theory or equipment required. It all depends on what kind of music you want to make.
  3. bass_is_for_me

Jan 1, 2003
    We plan on playing Bob Marley meets Hendrix meets Reel Big Fish. I am not concerned with my skill level but my music theory.
  4. PunkerTrav

Jul 18, 2001
    Canada & USA
    It would be a good Idea to look at Scale/Chord relationships. That way you'll increase your ability to create more intersting lines. Knowing how to form chords and scales is one thing, but knowing how they relate to and interact with each other is much more important, IMO.

Have fun in the new band bro!
    Travis :bassist: