1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

I'm Looking for a new Bass...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by philzbass, Feb 19, 2008.

1. OK, so I just sold the last bass I had in the house about a month or two ago. It was a Spector Euro 4 (Blue Stain) that I miss dearly!:crying: I don't know what I was thinking!!!!!

I picked up several keyboards and sold ALL my basses so that I could afford to keep the boards I got. I had not played bass in a band for a long time and I guess I thought that I wouldn't be playing bass for quite awile so I was going to try something new and start jamming on keyboards. Well, that was great until it got old. I guess I am just a bassist at heart and can't deny it anymore. I'll keep at least one board but I want a new bass bad!

So here is my question to you guys/gals... I have my eye on two very nice basses; a Spector Euro 4LXEX w/Spalted Maple top (NICE) and a see thru/black Fender Custom Shop Jazz w/Maple fretboard (Also NICE)

Out the door the:
    Spector runs about $1500-$1600
    Fender runs about $1900-$2000

So what should I do? I don't have a bass right now and I want something kick ass after selling off all the sh*t I used to own.

I want something really versitile and I will probably be pairing the bass up with a GK 1001rbII or maybe a Thunderfunk. I've even considered something from SWR but not sure yet.

I know that nobody can make this decision for me, I am just looking for some opinions here. Anything will help.

Thank you

2. steamthief

steamthief

Jan 25, 2006
    Mentone Beach
    If you like modern tone, go Spector. If you like classic tone, go Fender.

3. I'm not a Fender Fan (why be part of the Herd)....so if it were me I would go with the Spector....

But why just these two choices?