Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I'm lost---help!

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by IbanezGSound4, Nov 13, 2002.

1. Hey What's Up?

I was just wondering one thing. How can I play a five string song with a four string. I know the 5 includes "b" and a four is just e,a,d,g. Would I have to find the b-note on one of my strings and then just re-tab the song playing a higher scale degree up because I only have a 4 string or what? I'm confused.:confused:

P.S. The name of the song I want to play is "Fade" by Staind. it is tabbed in this archive so I was wondering if someone more experienced than me could tab it for a 4-string.

Thanx in advance----Matt

2. this probably should go in the tab forum.

im no expert or even a novice at doing tabs but im guessing you would drop d and just play an open d

3. if you're not concerned with being in the same key as the recording, you can just transpose the whole thing up a fourth, and play all the B string notes on the E string, etc. of course, this is assuming you don't need the G string.

4. Maybe the reason you're confused is because there's an error in that tab, the transposition to four string is a half step of compared to the five string version. (for the B string)
    Your E string should be tuned to C# (tuned down three half steps) instead of C, that's if the tab for five string is correct ...

The way you suggested will work too (with no need for detuning), but you'll be playing everything an octave higher.
    The seventh fret on the E string is the B, so just play everything a string higher and add seven to all the numbers in the tab.

5. what??

6. wulf

wulf

Apr 11, 2002
    Oxford, UK
    The important thing to grasp is note pitch (this is something which tab doesn't communicate too well to beginners).