Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

im new at upright, what kind should i get??

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by shock2system, Oct 9, 2002.

1. HI i have been playing bass, guitar, drums, bagpipes, ect for years and i wont to try upright bass, i only wont to spend around 500 or so for one nothing nice but playabul is that any body that can turn me on to a good brand??

2. EFischer1

EFischer1 Guest

Mar 17, 2002
    New York, New York
    If you're only looking to spend around 500, i would suggest choosing a new instrument....

3. olivier

olivier

Dec 17, 1999
    Paris, France
    The newbie treatment goes like this:
    1) check the newbie links at the top of each section in the DB forum, and...
    2) find yourself a teacher who should, among other things, guide you through the process of aquiring an instrument.

4. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

Isn't that a small border town in Turkmenistan? ;)

5. I play the pipes as well, and am going to start lessons on the upright next week. What I'm doing is renting a good quality bass for 40 bucks a month. If I stick with it, and decide to buy a bass, the rent will apply towards the purchase price. This person is the lead bassist with the Eastman School of Music, and has a great reputation, as does my instructor.
    No matter how much I enjoy the bass, those wonderfull pipes will alsways be my main mistress!

6. This is the story on bagpipes:

They sound exactly the same after you've learned how to play them as before.

7. As Gabby Hayes used to say,

"Them's fightin' words"

8. thrash_jazz

thrash_jazz

Jan 11, 2002
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    Artist: JAF Basses, Circle K Strings
    I'm afraid that 500 bucks isn't going to get you anything playable, unless you somehow land the deal of the century.