1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

I'm new here and I need help! Between a Fender CS, a Sadowsky, and a Lakland.

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Alex000, Jan 21, 2008.

1. Alex000

Alex000

Jan 18, 2008
    Endorsing Artist (I back..): Sadowsky, Fender, Aguilar Amplification.
    I'm new to talk bass but I come here I read a whole lot! I enjoy it. I recently signed up because I wanted to get in on the action. If anyone could please help, I would be forever grateful.

So here's my dilemma. I'm getting into session work out here where I live. I've been playing bass for over 8 years, touring for 3 years, and touring with a national band for the last year. I'm at the point now where I want to step it up a notch or two. I own two basses: a Fender American Vintage RI '62 Precision bass and a 2007 Rickenbacker 4003. The Fender is great, but the quality of it's awful. It sounds great, but I feel the neck is holding me back from playing risky stuff. The paint chipped on the back near the heel of the neck. Tuners = instant arthritis. But in the end it sounds great. But it's not a "player," nor is the build quality great, which are two things I need in the studio as a session dude. The rick sounds half as good as it looks. The rick plays well, tension is a little tough, sustain is great, quality of it is great, but in the end it doesn't sound great in my opinion. I feel the same way about ernie balls. I own two basses that are each other's opposites!

So I've been doing a lot of reading and searching. I need a bass of superb quality, craftmanship, playability, but in the end...sounds amazing! I need accuracy when it comes to fretwork, and anything else you could imagine (neck pocket, nut, etc). I feel like I'm at the point where I deserve something a little better than a Fender off a conveyor belt. This is what I've been looking at..

a Sadowsky Metro RV4