1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Im new to flats. so far I like the DR highbeams, hate the GHS brite

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by 00Funk, Jul 23, 2007.

1. 00Funk

00Funk Banned

Jul 17, 2006
    Dallas TX
    I have 2 seperate basses with theese strings. I groove better with the DR's

2. jmceachern36

jmceachern36 Supporting Member

Nov 13, 2005
    Cambridge MA
    How do you like the tension on those DR flats? Is it lower than the Brites? The same?

3. 00Funk

00Funk Banned

Jul 17, 2006
    Dallas TX
    About the same. I use drop D tuning, so its not too bad.

I cant imagine using them w/standard tuning

4. Im quite fond of EB flats.

And ive got some (7 to be exact) sets of Sadowsky flats, which sound pretty cool on my ATK right now

5. jmceachern36

jmceachern36 Supporting Member

Nov 13, 2005
    Cambridge MA
    I know what you mean. I love the sound of flats but it's ths high tension I could do without.... Thanks for the info.

6. ibanezcollector

ibanezcollector Yoyo's Hurt When You Crank It Into Your Face

Feb 18, 2007
    Cleveland Ohio
    I like the daddario chromes myself.

7. BassManPatsFan

BassManPatsFan Supporting Member

Feb 20, 2004
    San Francisco
    Me too. I just tried the GHS Brite Flats and I didn't really like them at all. They feel weird and don't sound good enough to justify my keeping them on.

8. 00Funk

00Funk Banned

Jul 17, 2006
    Dallas TX
    Im going to see if I can get use to them. They sound pretty good with a pic.

9. Phalex

Phalex Semper Gumby Supporting Member

Oct 3, 2006
    G.R. MI
    I think Brite Flats are awesome after you play them for a month or so.

10. 00Funk

00Funk Banned

Jul 17, 2006
    Dallas TX
    To be honest, Im begining to really like both sets.
    Thats weird, you have to break in flats.