Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

IM NEW TO PLAYING BASS

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Bass104, Jan 28, 2001.

1. Bass104

Bass104

Jan 28, 2001
    Hi to all the bassist. I am starting out playin the bass i bought a Peavy and some cheap amp is a Peavy a good bass for a newbie like me?

I heard about techniques which would be easist for a beginner? Thanks (if you reply) :)

2. In my opinion (which doesn't hold much anyway :)) would be that what you have is fine. Hell i know a bassist who bought a Ashton. When you are learning to play it doesn't really matter what bass you have. So too you don't need a whopping amp so the neighbours can hear all the fumbles. You have to play for awhile before you subject them to the fumbles. lolololol

So too, choose a song that you would like to play. feel free to email and tell me what song it is, or post it here, we may be able to suggest something easier but in the same genre. Its all about enjoying bass playing.

If you feel you want to, get some bass lessons from a teacher. Many people here will suggest it, personally when i was starting out three years back, i was embarrassed to play in front of even my brother, now its different. Playing in front of someone is hard as you are open to judgement, although they can teach you a hell of alot.

Hope that helps. Email me if u want some easier songs etc. hell i still play them lololol'

Merls

3. Dragonlord

Dragonlord Rocks Around The Glocks

Aug 30, 2000
    Greece, Europe
    I don't agree...I mean you pay the damn teacher,he is there to listen to your mistakes!!And actually that's the whole idea,to make mistakes so that he can help you improve on these parts...what would the meaning be if you could play like John Turner,then YOU should be the teacher:D
    I don't have a teacher BTW.I know it would help a lot but I am just too lazy:p

4. yawnsie