I'm new to the whole pre/ power thing..anything I should know?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by jiant., Mar 1, 2006.

1. jiant.

Jul 3, 2004
    Fort Mill, SC
    So I did what I've been wanting to do for awhile now, I got rid of my amp and moved on to a pre/power setup. I have a BBE Bmax-T and a Mackie 1400i on the way to me from fellow TB'er pgurns, and while I know how to set everything up, how far should I turn up the gains on the power amp? (I'll be mono-bridging it into an Ampeg SVT 410 HLF) Is it possible to get a growly tone out of the Bmax-T? Is it ok not to have a space between the power amp and preamp in my rack case, or should I upgrade to a bigger one? Please help!
  2. jondog

Mar 14, 2002
    NYC metro area
    Start working out, that amp is heavy. Bridge mono into 8 ohms is a good idea, but if your cab is 4 ohms that's 1400 watts so be careful.

I'm not familiar w/ the Bmax but I usually set the input gain so the light just blinks red (signal is hot but not too hot), set the output volume to where it just makes the red light blink on the power amp, and then use the power amp knobs (attenuators) to control how loud it is. Enjoy!
  3. IvanMike

IvanMike Player Characters fear me... Staff Member Supporting Member

Nov 10, 2002
    Middletown CT, USA
    most modern poweramps do ok with no spaces above or below, i ws in a band that used two 1400 amps for the pa stacked on atop the other in a 4 space case. IF you are runnign the amps flat out they might get a bit hot, but i wouldn't sweat it. Of course, if you can its always nice to give the amsp some ventilation room.

For the most part i tend to set the preamp volume gain to a level under clipping for a good signal to noise ratio (just like you would on a head with seperate pre and master volumes). Then i use the attenuators on the poweramp for "volume controls". when running bridge mono typically you only use the attenuator on channel A/1.
  4. Bob Lee (QSC)