I'm new

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Sinker, Dec 9, 2002.

1. Sinker

Dec 4, 2002
    Newark, DE USofA
    Just saying 'hey' and introducing myself. My musical background is varied; I studied trumpet in college, but vocal harmonizes are my strong suit. I'm a passable acoustic guitar player. I've been in a 3-piece acoustic band covering CS&N, etc. I've fronted a roots rock band and a horn band.

I wouldn't trade my musical memories for anything, but I had to quit the life-style. I have a friend that says, "If you hang around the barber shop long enough, eventually you'll get hair cut," if you know what I mean. No dis-respect to those that can do it; I just needed to get out of bars.

My life has changed dramatically and I'm now playing in a Christian Praise/Worship band at our church. I don't want to jump right in on my almost first post and start talking religion (or politics), but if you're like-minded I'd love to hear from you.

I'm kind of a 'utility infielder' with the band right now. I arrange and sing harmonies when needed, and sometimes play acoustic guitar. I'm also the 'Outreach Coordinator' as we play at various ministry opportunities. Our musical leader is an accomplished bassist, but never gets any time off. I've played some bass in the past, and am hoping to learn enough to give him a rest every once in a while.

So that brings me here. I'm excited about the prospect of learning a new instrument. I just did a deal on eBay that will have a vintage axe on my door-step real soon. I don't want to jinx it; I'll tell you about it when I get it! I'm looking forward to hanging with and learning from you good folks. I can tell already that this is an incredible resource.

2. Hey Sinker, welcome to Talkbass. I think you'll like it here.

Mike J. :)
  3. Ryan L.

Ryan L. Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Aug 7, 2000
    West Fargo, ND
    Welcome to Talkbass.:)