I'm not alowed to stop!

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by Rob Knight, Jul 3, 2005.

1. Help! I'm just starting out in the most important job in the world.

I want to be a jazz bass player.

I 'know' a few standards, the melodies. But how do I start to fulfill my duties as a Jazz bassist?

There's music in my head, but how do I translate that into bass?

My teacher suggested practice three chord tones then chromatic lead in note to the next bar (ie R 3 5). It works but sometimes feels contrived. It's the first step on a long journey I know, but it seems from here that the other steps are big ones.

How do I shorten the distance between what I hear and what I play?

2. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY
    Sing what you're hearing in your head, then try to play that. I have a saying in my theory classes: "If you can't sing it, don't tell me you're really hearing it, 'cause I ain't buying it". In other words, if you really do have concrete, detailed basslines in your head, you'll be able to sing them. If you can't sing them, then you don't really have them. If you DO have them, then sing them and then figure out how to play them - that's what improvisation IS when you boil it all down. Remember not to be in a hurry. It's a long and beautiful road, and it'll still be there in the morning.

What it sounds like your teacher is trying to do is to give you some basic tools to get you up and running until your ear can take over. Go with what he is telling you with the understanding that the long term goal is to put the training wheels away. In the meantime, you'll be learning to balance and steer on your own, and that's a good thing. Good luck. :)
  3. rossM

Jun 27, 2005
    sydney australia