Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Im now a rythem guitarist!

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by tallguybcs, Jan 18, 2002.

1. Last year I bought a tele, just for kicks, and am pretty proficient on it, except playing really fast chords (especially palm mutes) is hard. My friends band (my little circle of friends involves me, 2 other people, and the 3 in the band) wants me to join to help bring more stage presence in the band. They are amazing musicians (great songwrite, FAST drummer) and although they are 16 and 17, they have been playing music together for 4 years. They just recorded a full length, and are playing some shows locally.

The reason that they need more stage presence is because the bassist (we're at about the same level technichally, but he just spent A LOT on gear, so he'll stay put) also sings, and can't move around a lot at all. The guitarist is the cool *rock star* type, and stands in the corner, much like the stereotypical bassist would :)p ) and the drummer is, well, sitting. So I agreed, and am learning the songs (I can sing them, and know the words, but they arent *done* yet.

My question is this, what can I do to play faster, they are seriously the fastest band I have ever heard, and need to improve quite a bit. I want this to work, and am trying as hard as possible to get it to.

Thanks in advance.

2. Lazy

Lazy

May 30, 2001
    Vancouver BC
    I've played rhythm guitar for years and although the lead guitarist gets the most attention,your job is much more important!

First of all,your sense of timing should be alright because you play bass so the only thing you should need to work on is the technical aspect of speed!