1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

I'm really stuck with strings!

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by NTBass, Oct 20, 2013.

1. NTBass

NTBass

Oct 20, 2013
    Hello.
    I am having a great deal of string trouble at the moment, and was looking for some help from those with more experience. Let me give you the background:

I am a music student, I like to be 50/50 arco and pizz. Classical and Jazz/rock, with some opportunity to play in the local symphony orchestra.
    I have been studying the Rabbath technique for a few years now, and therefore the bass (Gliga 3) was set up for the usual Corelli 370m's. Which is what I have become used to.

The problem is that whilst the 370m's are good with the bow (albeit quiet), they are not so good pizz. (More like a twangy louder un-amped electric bass). So i keep on with my bow technique...missing the pizz.

So I have tried various strings on my student budget:
    Gliga 3 Bass.
    Corelli 370 TX Ok, bit scratchy for arco + maybe too loud, same pizz sound as 370m but louder.
    Evah Wiechs: Ok"ish" arco, but not the right pizz sound for me.
    Spirocore Solos Tuned down with a Wiech E. THIS was the perfect pizz sound for me, but the arco is harsh and dynamic control very limited really, also I am used to lighter strings.
    I played the spiro's with a small classical ensemble, too loud + cutting. (but that Pizz sound...dark and bright plenty of mwah and definition!)

So I am back to the 370ms, and I am unsatisfied to the point of.........despite how easy they are to bow for that semi-cello solo arco sound.

Can anyone suggest any alternatives given this info?
    I don't live within 3000km of a shop to try anything out.

Thanks in advance for any ideas.

Appreciated.
    NTBass.

2. geoffbassist

geoffbassist UK Double Bassist Supporting Member Commercial User

Jul 17, 2006
    UK