I'm scared.... :-( Please reassure me!!!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Modern Growl, Aug 26, 2005.

1. Hey guy, I was the individual who recently opened up the "Give me the science to back it up" Thread, which has lead to a very good debate. I have a specific question now that maybe you's could help me out with.

Here's the deal. I right now, have a Fender 250 1x15" (Great sounding combo) combo, and the speaker reaches down to 43Hz. I'm debating on turning it in to get the exact same combo, just the 2x10" version, simply for the fact that I could sound better/tighter. From the research I've done, calling Eminence, the 10"s go down to 53Hz in that combo.

Now, the reason why I'm scared to do this is becuase... well I'm a bassist and like the low end, right? But I would like a tight low end.

Here's the deal... I just bought the Sadowsky Outboard Pre, which I'm in love with and the Pre boost at 40Hz. - Right now, as it is, I hear this boost nicly w/ the 1x15" combo. Am I going to loose that low end/waste the pedal's bass boost if I go w/ the 2x10's, being they go down to 53Hz????

My question basically is, am I going to loose all that bottom? Will the 2x10" combo/cab be able to produce anything under 53Hz?

(I've always wondered why popular mfr's like Ampeg ect... make heads that have bass boost's at 40Hz, but MOST of their 4x10" cab's only go down to 50Hz. What about those other 10Hz of lush bottom end?

Whats the deal? Whats going to happen to the tone?

Lenghty, I know. And I appreciate your time if You've read thus far. Any wisdom you could share?