Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I'm so bored

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Fletch14, Jun 8, 2004.

1. Hey all, lately i have been so bored with my playing. i have been playing for about 5 years now and i have learned all there is to know about slap and stuff to that nature. so what im asking is for some really cool funk songs to learn artists and titles and such you know the gig so if yall could post i would greatly appreciate it.

2. Benjamin Strange

Benjamin Strange Commercial User

Dec 25, 2002
    New Orleans, LA
    Owner / Tech: Strange Guitarworks
    If you think you've mastered everything there is to know about bass in 5 years time you aren't being honest with yourself. It's true that the better you get, the more you are aware of how far you have to go.

Perhaps you are just in a rut. Do you play in a band? Do you write music? Can you read music? If you don't, I would suggest giving any or all of them a try.

Or you could always convert to CGDA tuning, like I did 6 years ago when I realized I had "mastered" my instrument.

3. or listen to something other than funk for a while.
    i recommend kenny g or micheal bolton. definately no funk there.

4. Boplicity

Boplicity Supporting Member

Are you SURE you know all there is to know about slap and stuff? Have you tried transcribing and playing Vic Wooten's work? Have you tried transcribing and playing Stu Hamm's work?

I'm not sure what the stuff is, but have you tried transcribing stuff by Jaco Pastorious, Geddy Lee, Michael Manring, Flea, Jason Olsted, Les Claypool, Steve Harris, Billy Sheehan or any number and variety of accomplished bassists in different styles?