Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

im so confused. please help

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by U Know, Aug 6, 2003.

1. ok im new to the whol bass thing. i have a behringer 60watt combo but i want something bigger but i don't understand all this power amp, pre amp, cab stuff.

Can someone explain what you do with a poweramp and what the difference between a pre amp and power amp is and what i need to get so i can amplify my bass. (i won;t alot of watts, band and stuff you know)

Thanks

2. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

Forget all that stuff - just think :

HEAD

and

CAB

You don't need to be worried about anything else and can get really loud and high quality sound by just thinking -

HEAD - is the smaller box of electronics with the knobs on that allows you to shape tone; and usually sits on top of :

CAB(s) - these are bigger boxes with speakers in and are conncted to the HEAD with a speaker cable.

Just try as many as you can in shops and buy what sounds best to you.

The END.

3. Mcrelly

Mcrelly

Jun 16, 2003
    Minnesota, USA
    You WANT alot of watts?

Combos: all in one package pre, amp, speaker.

Pre: raises the signal to "line" level so you can tweak the sound. here you can adjust tone, volume, effects if they are plugged in. its the first step.

Amp: this is the part that make the signal REALLY loud and sends it to the speakers also know as the cabinet or "cab".

Cab: just the speakers in a box