Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I'm taking a lesson.

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Munjibunga, Jan 5, 2006.

1. Munjibunga

Munjibunga Total Hyper-Elite Member Gold Supporting Member

May 6, 2000
    San Diego (when not at Groom Lake)
    Independent Contractor to Bass San Diego
    After all these years, I promised myself I would take some bass lessons. So last month I got to sit in for a few songs with the band at my company's Holiday Party. Their bass player is a total animal (his name's Rod Ratelle). He gave me his card, and it said he gives lessons, so I told him I'd hook up with him after the first of the year to set up a time. So I called him today, and my first lesson ever will be next Thursday (not tomorrow).

I've been a musician for almost 50 years, so I can read music and I know a lot of theory, so we're going to work on technique and maybe some jazz licks. I also want to expand on my walking lines. Also, he can check me for bad habits and see if I can improve overall. Most of all, though, I want to learn how to do that typewriter crap so I can go down to GC and wank with the 14-year-olds.

2. Derio

Derio

Dec 6, 2005
    Saint George
    Hah, I'm not nearly experienced as you - only been playing for 7 months and am entirely self taught. I mainly do a lot of simple playing around on the bass, and don't have a set-in-stone practice plan. My main source of practice right now would be the band I am working in, which is slowly helping me with music theory and actual technique, but I recently decided that I would definitely be able to improve much quicker if I were to be able to sit down with someone professional and have things gone over w/ me. It just seems that I've hit a wall and am currently going over it very very slowly - a push in the direction might be wonderful.

So, sounds like a good idea to me - good luck!