1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

I'm thinking about getting a new bass - some help please

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by dar512, Oct 20, 2013.

1. dar512

dar512

Mar 25, 2005
    Chicago, IL
    I'm thinking about getting a new bass and I need some advice. But I need to give some background.

I kind of slid into playing bass. I had some friends who had a jazz group and were looking for a bass player. I wasn't sure whether I'd like it so I bought the cheapest bass I could find. A $100 Rogue. I had flat wounds put on it in the hope that it would sound more - jazzy.

It wasn't long before I graduated to an upright and I only played the electric at the church guitar mass. And it worked fine for that purpose.

So here's the reason for looking at new basses. I volunteered to play bass for a special work event. It's rock music moving faster than I'm used to. I need to at least approximate the riff on the Mellencamp version of Wild Night. So I think I might need something with a lighter touch.

I stopped by Guitar Center to see if something new could help. Indeed of the four basses I tried, all had a much lighter touch than I'm used to with the Rogue flat wounds.

On the other hand, all the basses sounded twangier on the D and G strings than the Rogue. It's possible I just didn't know how to dial in a heftier sound. This is not my area of expertise.

But I wonder if it's just that really light strings are put on new basses and I'd have to go to heavier strings to get a decent sound. In which case, am I back to the (lack of) playability on the Rogue?

Thoughts?

2. bassman10096

bassman10096

Jul 30, 2004
    MKE