1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

I'm thinking of Zyex..

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by Henri Gross, Nov 11, 2018.

1. Henri Gross

Henri Gross Supporting Member

Sep 22, 2018
    I'm a college student who's a bass performance major, and I spend a majority of my time doing orchestral work. Anyone have any experience playing in orchestra with Zyex? I want to try them, and they're pretty cheap too... I like the way they sound on some other basses, especially under my bow (I have a "special" bow). I've tried the Kaplan heavy tensions, and I REALLY liked those, mostly because of the amount of sound I could pull. I really just want a canon that can win auditions...

2. Seanto

Seanto

Dec 29, 2005
    USA
    Curious with those that main on orchestral think of Zyex. I personally found them to be not so much a friendly bowing string with a flat tonal response(or does that make them a good bowing string?). My Spiros are both more powerful and have a wider tonal response, which i think would convey more emotional and dynamic playing. Some describe the tone as scratchy though. To me, "scratchy" simply equals cutting through. Then again i've never played in an orchestra/symphony.(probably should become my signature)

3. Henri Gross

Henri Gross Supporting Member

Sep 22, 2018
    I played on a Spiro extended E and absolutely hated it. It was an extremely slow bow response, and then the tone quality was just down the tubes. Granted, that's just on my bass and for my playing, so while it may not work for me, it works for many (or else the string wouldn't be sold anymore).

Seanto likes this.
  4. Phil Rowan

Phil Rowan Supporting Member

Mar 2, 2005
    Brooklyn, NY
    I found Zyex to be a tad too bright on my bass to blend well in a bass section. But that’s my experience on my bass, so YMMV, etc.

5. Sam Dingle

Sam Dingle Supporting Member