Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I'm to be subjected to Jazz...Oh, the humanity!

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Matthew Bryson, Jul 15, 2004.

1. Matthew Bryson

Matthew Bryson Guest

Jul 30, 2001
    My wife realizes that I am a bassist who is frustrated by my current lack of a gig. So she mentioned that she knows of an "open mic night" that happens each week at a local place. At first I showed an interest and explained that an open mic could possibly be a good place for me to get my "playing out" fix, and maybe a good place to meet people to start a future project with. I asked her for more info and she said that from what she hears, they play jazz. I said "Oh, then never mind. I don't play jazz". But I don't think she got it - she's continued to suggest that I go.
    Now, she had asked me if she could take me out on a date tonight and I agreed, but it seems that what she plans on doing is taking me to this open mic jazz jam. Oh god, this is the last place I want to go. I really don't dig jazz and this will be jazz performed by amateurs on an open mic level. I'm going, just because my wife asked me to go out there with her. But I'm not looking forward to it. Dear God. Have mercy on my soul.
    :bawl:

2. vegaas

vegaas

Nov 6, 2001
    Milwaukee
    Too much Jazz for one hand! :bassist:

3. DaveDeVille

DaveDeVille ... you talkin' to me ?? Supporting Member

relax ...try it , you might like it !! i doubt anyone will force you to get up and play...
    i went out to see Jon Packard {Pacman} the other night . i didn't know what to expect , but i had a very enjoyable evening , listening to jazz and drinking beer ... :cool:

4. Matt, Jazz is simply great. Give it a chance.

Let go of the major scales, embrace the minor.

Jazz is like staying in a nice cozy bed & breakfast, as oppsed to a big hotel.

Mmmm. So good. :cool:

Mike