1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

I'm totally new to bass playing and I need some help

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Kaos, Mar 21, 2006.

1. Kaos

Kaos

Mar 21, 2006
    I'm wanting to start and I don't even have a bass yet. I thought since I'm starting I would look for a bass in the $150-$200 price range. Please make suggestions, I want to try and get the best instrument for my money. Also, I already have a very nice Ibanez bass amp.

2. wdinc01

wdinc01

Nov 19, 2005
    Jacksonville, FL
    Usually there's someone who'll come in and say get an SX...

...and I'm glad to say I'm the first person to do so!

http://www.rondomusic.com

I don't own one myself, but people compare it to an entry level Fender. And for that price, that's very good. I myself would say get a Spector, only because I got myself one and it's awesome. But you'd have to save up to around $300. If you wanna get started right away, I say go with the SX.

3. Correlli

Correlli

Apr 2, 2004
    New Zealand
    SX or Squier Affinity P-Bass

4. jasper383

jasper383

Dec 5, 2004
    Durham NC
    Yamaha is also a great choice in that price range.

5. Kaos

Kaos

Mar 21, 2006
  6. Correlli

Correlli

Apr 2, 2004
    New Zealand
    IMHO, The only thing I see that would turn me off, is that body is made Agathis. The Squire Affinity and SX have Alder bodys, which produce better tone.

7. wdinc01

wdinc01

Nov 19, 2005
    Jacksonville, FL
    I wouldn't exactly recommend a Squier. It's not what you'd say is alot of bang for your buck.