1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Im unsure of the proper head to get HELP!!!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by newbie_Bass, Apr 22, 2006.

1. newbie_Bass

newbie_Bass

Apr 22, 2006
    hi im new to the whole bass thing, i have been a guitar player for 7 years and i am picking up bass to go on tour with a friends band and i have this old peavy 2ohm bass cab, with 4 12' speakers, and im not sure what kind of head to get or if this cab is complete junk, any help u could give me I would really appreciate,

Andrew

2. newbie_Bass

newbie_Bass

Apr 22, 2006
    what im really unsure of is matching the ohms, because i cant seem to find any 2 ohm heads

3. ESP-LTD

ESP-LTD

Sep 9, 2001
    Idaho
    I've never heard of any 2 ohm cabs made by Peavey. You might want to double check that.

If you open it up and the speakers have square magnets, it's pretty old and probably not worth much.

There are heads and power amps that will push 2 ohm loads, but they are not the most common.

4. newbie_Bass

newbie_Bass

Apr 22, 2006
    well will the 2ohm cab put out a lot of volume? if i get the right head?

5. newbie_Bass

newbie_Bass

Apr 22, 2006
    i didnt see any magnets but the nback has one input and it says 2ohms

6. bass_extremes

bass_extremes

Jul 9, 2005
    2ohms will give you the most power. I think that kustom groove bass head will do 1200watts at 2 ohms. But then you would have to see if you cab could handle that much power

7. newbie_Bass

newbie_Bass

Apr 22, 2006
    oh cool,, do u know of any fair priced heads that i could use and put out alot of volume,, i need it to be fair amount because ill be playing alot of live shows and i need it to be loud :bassist: hehe

8. Carvin B800 or B1500, Kustom GrooveBass 1200.

9. newbie_Bass

newbie_Bass

Apr 22, 2006